Bayer Leverkusen crowned Bundesliga champion: Which teams have won the league title so far?

The German Bundesliga, football’s top division in Germany since 1963, was started as a professional approach to the game, and also contributed in making it more competitive. In its first seven editions, the league lived up to its promise, giving seven different champions.

However, in the last decade, the title-race has been dominated by Bayern Munich, which won 11 consecutive titles after Borussia Dortmund fell short in the final matchday, last season.

This season, the race has turned on its head, with Bayer Leverkusen, which finished sixth last season, dethroning the Bavarians, with a 2-0 win over Werder Bremen and securing the title with five games in hand.

Made with Flourish

Which team has won the Bundesliga the most number of times?

Bayern Munich has the highest number of German Bundesliga titles at 32 while Borussia Dortmund in the second most successful team with six titles. It is to be noted that the titles are considered after the advent of Bundesliga, excluding the league titles of top division before that.

Which team is the most successful if German top division before Bundesliga is included?

Even when the the German top division is considered, from 1903, when league football initially started in the country, Bayern Munich heavily dominates the title tally, with 33 trophies to its name, followed by Nuremberg, which has nine titles to its name.

ALSO READ: Neverkusen no more: Bayer Leverkusen’s relentless mentality powers title charge

Following is the history of title winners and runners-up in German football:

Made with Flourish

Source Link

About The Author


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *